top of page
Search

Big Mouth



"Marty Glouberman doesn't relax. The man eats on the toilet to save time." Big Mouth is one of the funniest and vulgar TV shows I have watched. One second I'm laughing and the other I'm cringing and thinking why is this show even enjoyable. The show is about middle schoolers going on their journey through puberty with their assigned "Hormone Monster." One of the main characters, Andrew Glouberman, has Maurice as his hormone monster, who I think gives us the most humor throughout the show.


I've watched the three season series twice and I think that the second season is my favorite by far. It introduces new characters and new connections are made. Some more characters from the series are Nick Burch, Jessi Glaser and Jay Bilzerian. These characters, including Andrew Glouberman, make up the main characters and are shown in almost every scene of the show. I think, of the four characters, Jay is the funniest. It's always funny watching him being obsessed with magic and trying to flirt with all the girls. I also like that Andrew is always with Maurice. Maurice always says a humorous quote and makes the show a lot funnier.



I also like the characters who make an occasional appearance in the show such as Coach Steve or Caleb. I think that it's always funny when Coach Steve is in any scene because of how dumb he is. He lives in a shipping container on a barge. Coach Steve also shows up in Season three with a new job every episode and for some reason is kind of funny. I also like Caleb because he is portrayed as a seventh grader with Aspergers syndrome which makes him very awkward in social situations. He always has a humorous and awkward quote whenever he is in a scene. I think that Caleb is also one of the funnier characters because he can't help that he is awkward.


All the characters in Big Mouth are going through changes, but it mostly shows Andrew, Jessi and Nicks changes. Throughout the series it's funny to watch them starting to grow and discover new things about themselves. Maurice makes Andrew have intense sensations of anger which makes me think that he is just having an influx of testosterone. I just think that it's funny when Andrew gets angry and goes on a rage spree. Nick thinks that he will never go through puberty because he has not seen any changes yet and Andrew has already had a lot of change. Nick later realizes that it will eventually come and starts being more confident. I really like Nick as a character because he is one of the nicer characters compared to some and is sort of funny.


It summary, I really enjoyed Big Mouth and think that it's funny, "educational" and very vulgar. I give Big Mouth an 8/10 just because I think most of the humor is funny but it can be controversial because it talks about abortion in a few episodes and some people don't think it's ok to say stuff about abortion. I also give it an 8 because I really like how all the characters have a funny role throughout the show and make me want to watch more.





14 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page